But just what is Conscious Fashion? Recently, I’ve been thinking a lot about where my money goes when I spend it on clothes (and I do love clothes). Having researched Better Beauty and started to advocate for it on this blog, I turned my attention to the effects that fast fashion has my life and the lives of other people, animals, and the planet.

I was made cognizant of all these factors in April with Eco Fashion Week, Fashion Revolution Day, and Earth Day all appearing on my radar.

And one of the most worrisome things, for me, was my collusion and participation in Fast Fashion. Why is fast fashion such a worrisome thing? Well, here’s a cogent explanation:

The effects that fast fashion has on the environment, on workers, and on consumers (because hey kids it’s not as if we’re buying quality product that will last) are the reasons why I decided after that last purchase from Forever 21, it’s time to do that thing I used to do to movies I thought were crappy back when I was a teenager: boycott!

Forever 21

Like many of the big mall brands and fast fashion bastions, Forever 21 relies on cheap labour and shear volume of clothes bought in order to turn a profit. It’s not news that Forever 21 is one of the worst offenders of cheap quality clothes made on the backs of slave and child labour, and then shipped around the world on polluting freighters. What is news is that there are alternatives to this madness.

Missguided

Conscious Fashion Swaps | Switch Forever 21 for Missguided

One of those alternatives is Missguided, a clothing company that exists 100% online and touts itself not as delivering fast fashion, but rapid fashion, with line ups changing every day. This would seem to suggest that even more of the above abuses are taking place, but instead last year it was reported in the Financial Times that 50% of their product was made in Manchester. In fact, when I sent a direct message to their help Twitter account, @Missguided_help, asking about their supply chain practices, I was told that 100% of their clothing is now manufactured in the UK.

Missguided, just like Forever 21, produces designs that appeal to popular tastes. Taking cues from celebrities instead of designers means that they appeal to a wide audience. And selling clothes that are exclusively produced in the UK means that if you’re new to #ConsciousFashion but can’t get enough of producing or watching YouTube haul videos, Missguided is a great place to start.

This is a new process for me as well, transitioning my purchasing habits from Fast to #ConsciousFashion. However, with luck we can explore better options together through this new series, #ConsciousFashion Swaps.

Next time I have the urge to shop Forever 21, I know where I’ll be headed instead!

What other brands should I investigate for conscious fashion swaps? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

