Topshop Moto White Lucas Slim Boyfriend Jeans on left, $65.36 USD.
Moto White Slim Leg Jeans by Topshop Reclaim on left, $70.03 USD.

For a few weeks now, I’ve been suggesting conscious alternatives that come under the umbrella of some of my favourite but unsustainable brands. Today I’m continuing the trend by looking at Top Shop’s Reclaim to Wear Collection.

Switch TopShop

I know that I’ve covered Top Shop as an unsustainable brand before, and so I won’t go over its ills again. Needless to say, Fast Fashion is unsustainable and most of it helps to contribute to the worldwide abuse of garment manufacturers as well as much of the pollution that occurs on Earth.

But I felt I had to revisit the brand in the wake of the release of their first standalone Reclaim range of clothing.

For TopShop’s Reclaim to Wear Collection

For three years, Topshop collaborated with sustainable brands Reclaim to Wear and From Somewhere to release capsule collections of fashion made from reclaimed remnant fabrics. Just like any designer collaboration with a fast fashion giant, these collections were small and short-lived, coming back in a yearly cycle.

Now the UK fast fashion giant has released, as of July 16, its first standalone sustainable range based on the same principles. 

According to the brand’s blog, Reclaim is a capsule collection. And looking at it, I’m struck with just how small it is and how much more Topshop could do with this concept.

There’s not much more information, but I have a feeling that once these pieces sell out, that’ll be it until next year. Just like H&M’s Conscious Collection, sustainability for the British fashion brand seems to be a seasonal thang.

The problem is, I don’t see sustainability as a trend or a capsule collection. For me, this is a lifestyle change that I’ll still be interested in long after these fast fashion corporations have moved on from paying lip service to sustainability to the next designer collaboration.

If only these companies could see how beautiful, desirable clothes can be made from creative choices that reclaimed fabrics afford top notch designers. But maybe that’s just a pipe dream from me, living in a perfect dream world where ‘fast fashion’ doesn’t exist and textiles don’t go to waste.

Leave a Reply

